Fatal fall on Broad Peak

Broad Peak (in 2004)

The second fatality of the summer climbing season has occurred on the eight-thousander Broad Peak in the Karakoram. Pakistani climber Sharif Sadpara fell from the summit ridge and has been missing since. The hope of recovering him alive is close to zero.

Describing how the accident happened on Tuesday, Austrian expedition operator Furtenbach Adventures wrote on Instagram: “There is still difficult and limited communication (with Broad Peak base camp) but what we know so far is that our team started from Camp 3 in the night, also fixing the rope to the summit ridge. They were followed by climbers from other teams. Shortly before the summit a following Pakistani climber from a different team fell through a snow cornice on the summit ridge down to the Chinese side. That event halted the summit push for everyone for obvious reasons.”

Continue reading “Fatal fall on Broad Peak”

Italians without bottled oxygen on Nanga Parbat – first fatality of the season

Nanga Parbat

At express speed, six Italian mountain guides from the Aosta Valley at the foot of Mont Blanc have scaled the 8,125-meter-high Nanga Parbat in Pakistan – without bottled oxygen! Marco Camandona, Francois Cazzanelli, Emrik Favre, Jerome Perruquet, Roger Bovard and Pietro Picco climbed via the Kinshofer route, according to Italian press reports, and reached the summit in less than two days on Monday morning local time.

They had decided to rest only at Camp 3 at around 6,700 meters. Cazzanelli set off from base camp at 4,300 meters only after the others and reached the highest point in just 20 hours and 20 minutes. Cazzanelli and Picco had – as reported before – opened a challenging variant to the Kinshofer route in the lower area of the Diamir Face last week and called it “Aosta Valley Express”.

Continue reading “Italians without bottled oxygen on Nanga Parbat – first fatality of the season”

Kristin Harila’s eight-thousander chase: Number 7, Nanga Parbat

The Diamir side of Nanga Parbat
The Diamir side of Nanga Parbat

The first eight-thousander summit success of the summer season in Pakistan is reported from Nanga Parbat. According to Pemba Sherpa, founder of the Nepalese operator 8K Expeditions, today the 36-year-old Norwegian Kristin Harila and her three companions Chhiring Namgel Sherpa , Pasdawa Sherpa and Dawa Ongju Sherpa reached the summit at 8,125 meters. Kristin thus continued her record chase in the footsteps of Nirmal “Nims” Purja.

Like the Nepalese did in 2019, Harila wants to be the first woman to climb all 14 eight-thousanders in half a year – like Nims with bottled oxygen, strong Sherpa support and, if possible, helicopters to cover the distances between the mountains as quickly as possible. This is unlikely to be realized in Pakistan, where helicopter flights in the north of the country are only permitted to the Pakistani military.

Continue reading “Kristin Harila’s eight-thousander chase: Number 7, Nanga Parbat”

Expedition hotspot K2

K2
The 8,611-meter-high K2 in the Karakoram (in summer 2004)

Will K2 become a bestseller like Mount Everest? No, I don’t have to formulate that as a question anymore. The 8,611-meter-high mountain on the border between Pakistan and China is already a big seller among commercial expedition operators. Karrar Haidri, head of the Alpine Club of Pakistan, told the Pakistani newspaper “The News” that this summer more than 400 climbers would attempt to climb the second highest mountain on earth. By comparison, Nepal’s government issued 325 climbing permits for the past spring season on Everest, compared with 408 in the record year of 2021.

Continue reading “Expedition hotspot K2”

Tom Matthews after Everest scientific expedition: “It was humbling”

New weather station at the so-called "Bishop Rock" near the summit of Mount Everest
New weather station at the so-called “Bishop Rock” near the summit of Mount Everest

The icy ground is melting away from Everest Base Camp on the south side of the mountain in Nepal. For this reason, the Ministry of Tourism in Kathmandu is considering moving the camp’s location away from the glacier to ice-free ground in the future. The site behind the last inhabited settlement of Gorak Shep is reportedly under discussion, at an altitude of around 5,200 meters – at the foot of the popular hill Kala Patthar (5,645 m), from whose highest point many trekking tourists enjoy the view of Mount Everest. The possible move was triggered by the effects of climate change.

“I remember not many years ago when kitchen staff used to collect big pieces of ice, and boil them in huge pots to make water. These days, we can fetch water directly from Khumbu glacier,” Khimlal Gautam writes in the Everest Chronicle portal. The surveyor, who stood on Everest in 2011 and 2019, spent the entire past spring season at the base camp – as a member of that commission of the Ministry of Tourism, which now recommended moving the base camp to lower regions.

British climate scientist Tom Matthews stood on the summit of Everest at 8,849 meters this spring. The 36-year-old mounted a weather station with teammates from the National Geographic science expedition at an altitude of 8,810 meters, not far from the summit. In spring 2019, Tom had already installed a station on the so-called “Balcony” at about 8,400 meters, but it had survived only a few months. Matthews answered my questions.

Tom, What was it like for you as a scientist to stand on the highest point on earth?

Continue reading “Tom Matthews after Everest scientific expedition: “It was humbling””

New aid project in Nepal: “School up – far west”

Lessons in the provisional school in Rama
Lessons in the provisional school in Rama

“Our village children attend a school with inadequate facilities. The roof leaks, the classrooms are too small. There is a lack of school furniture, of toilets and much more,” says Him Bahadur Shahi from the small mountain village of Rama. “We have a high proportion of school dropouts due to a variety of social factors, including a lack of adequate educational facilities. Having a full-service school would benefit our community and encourage students to finish their school studies.“

Over the next two years, the German aid organization “Nepalhilfe Beilngries” plans to build two more building wings around the existing school building – with toilets and water supply. With my new “School up” project I would like to support this school construction.

Continue reading “New aid project in Nepal: “School up – far west””

Apparently second shoe of Günther Messner found on Nanga Parbat

The shoe now found

“Last week, the second shoe of my brother Günther was found at the foot of the Diamir glacier by local people. After fifty-two years. The Nanga Parbat tragedy remains as well as Günther forever.” With these words, mountaineering legend Reinhold Messner commented today on social media on the image of an old mountaineering boot on a large boulder. He had been sent the photo, the 77-year-old South Tyrolean told the German Press Agency (dpa). He will personally pick up the shoe in Pakistan, but there is no hurry, Messner said.

Continue reading “Apparently second shoe of Günther Messner found on Nanga Parbat”

Peter Riemann and the mystery of his winter coup on Cho Oyu

Peter Riemann (Cho Oyu in the background)
Peter Riemann (Cho Oyu in the background)

Is Peter Riemann now sitting in heaven chatting with Cho Oyu, the “Goddess of Turquoise”, about his solo winter ascent of the eight-thousander in the border region between Nepal and Tibet? Probably, however, he doesn’t make much fuss about it up there either. “He was pretty private and not at all boastful about his accomplishments,” recalls the German climber’s widow, American Carol Davis. “He was fine with his own company.”

Carol is one of apparently very few people Peter let in on his secret about his alleged 1992/93 winter coup: “Peter told me, in no uncertain terms, that he summited Cho Oyu from the Nepal side, alone and without supplemental oxygen. He eschewed supplemental oxygen, and never used it. Also, Peter always climbed alone.”

Continue reading “Peter Riemann and the mystery of his winter coup on Cho Oyu”

Everest season 2022: Sherpas, Sherpas, Sherpas

South side of Mount Everest

The route through the Khumbu Icefall secured by the Icefall Doctors, a highly specialized Sherpa team, has been officially closed since yesterday, Sunday. This means that the 2022 spring season on Mount Everest is history.

It brought some 700 ascents to the highest point on earth, about 650 on the Nepalese south side of the mountain and before that 50 on the Tibetan north side, which once again remained closed to foreigners. With very few exceptions – one of them the German climber David Göttler – the mountaineers used bottled oxygen. By now we have become as accustomed to this as we have to the lurid headlines: “First … on Everest” or “New record on Everest”. In other respects it was a memorable season.

Continue reading “Everest season 2022: Sherpas, Sherpas, Sherpas”

Kristin Harila in Nims’ footsteps

Kristin Harila

Do I have a déjà vu? Norwegian Kristin Harila stood on the 8,485-meter-high summit of Makalu today with Sherpas Dawa Ongju and Pasdawa of Nepalese operator 8K Expeditions – with bottled oxygen. According to Lakpa Sherpa, head of the company, it was Kristin’s sixth eight-thousander in 29 days: after Annapurna (28 April), Dhaulagiri (8 May), Kangchenjunga (14 May), Mount Everest and Lhotse (both on 22 May). This was two days faster than Nepalese Nirmal “Nims” Purja in 2019.

Continue reading “Kristin Harila in Nims’ footsteps”

David Göttler: “Alone on the summit of Mount Everest”

David Göttler on the summit of Mount Everest (wearing a mask to moisten his breath).

His tactics worked out perfectly. “I’ve always said I need a year with a long lasting good weather window,” David Göttler tells me, “so that all the other expeditions have been on the mountain before I get going.” As reported yesterday, the 43-year-old German professional mountaineer had reached the summit of Mount Everest at 8,849 meters on Saturday: without bottled oxygen – and without Sherpa support. With the exception that Göttler also used the ropes that a Sherpa team had fixed for the commercial teams to secure the normal route.

After two failed attempts in 2019 and in 2021, David now stood on the highest point on earth. It was his sixth eight-thousander summit success without bottled oxygen after Gasherbrum II (in 2006), Broad Peak (in 2007), Dhaulagiri (in 2008), Lhotse (in 2009) and Makalu (in 2013). In 2017, Göttler had climbed the South Face of Shishapangma with Italian Hervé Barmasse – before they stopped their ascent five meters below the summit because of too high avalanche danger.

I spoke to David on the second day after his Everest summit success.

First of all, congratulations on your Everest ascent without breathing mask. How many stages did your summit push have?

Continue reading “David Göttler: “Alone on the summit of Mount Everest””

David Göttler: Everest success without bottled oxygen

David Göttler near Everest South Col

“For dreams like this to come true, you probably need a lot of attempts. Because everything just has to fit,” David Göttler told me last year after failing for the second time on Mount Everest climbing without breathing mask. On his third attempt, it apparently worked. According to Chhang Dawa Sherpa of the Nepalese expedition operator Seven Summit Treks, David reached the highest point on earth at 8,849 meters on Saturday without bottled oxygen and without Sherpa support. In spring 2019, Göttler had turned back on Everest at 8,650 meters because there was too much traffic on the normal route and the weather was getting worse. In 2021, he and the Spaniard Kilian Jornet had abandoned their attempt on the South Col at just below 8,000 meters because neither felt optimal.

Continue reading “David Göttler: Everest success without bottled oxygen”

One of over 400: Everest summiteer Gerhard Osterbauer

Gerhard Osterbauer on the summit of Mount Everest
Gerhard Osterbauer on the summit of Mount Everest

“Maybe I set a record: 30 years for the Seven Summits!” says Gerhard Osterbauer and laughs. The 53-year-old Austrian reached the highest point of Mount Everest at 8,849 meters last Friday at 7:15 a.m. local time – with bottled oxygen – as one of more than 400 climbers who ascended to the summit via Nepal’s south side over the past week and a half.

Continue reading “One of over 400: Everest summiteer Gerhard Osterbauer”

Mount Everest: Now already about 400 summit success on the south side

Sunrise on Mount Everest
Sunrise on Mount Everest (in fall 2019)

It almost seems as if someone has put a wedge in the fair weather window so that it cannot close. For more than a week, there has been little or no wind blowing in the summit region of Mount Everest, and little or no snow falling. As a result, most of the 319 foreign climbers to whom Nepal’s Ministry of Tourism issued Everest permits this spring have already completed their summit attempts.

U.S. blogger Alan Arnette, who keeps track of the numerous commercial teams on the world’s highest mountain like no other, has meanwhile noted some 400 summit successes (as usual, except for a few, with bottled oxygen) on the Nepalese side of Everest. In addition, there have been dozens of ascents of neighboring Lhotse.

Continue reading “Mount Everest: Now already about 400 summit success on the south side”

Billi Bierling without summit success on Dhaulagiri

Billi Bierling on the slopes of Dhaulagiri
Billi Bierling on the slopes of Dhaulagiri

Failure belongs to the ambitious mountaineering – just as to admit this honestly. As Billi Bierling is doing now on Dhaulagiri. “I gave up in Camp 3,” the 54-year-old German climber writes to me from the base camp at the foot of the 8,167-meter-high mountain in western Nepal.

Last Sunday, it took her twelve hours to walk from Camp 2 at 6,460 meters to Camp 3 at around 7,200 meters. Fresh snow and loose snow avalanches had made for difficult conditions.

Continue reading “Billi Bierling without summit success on Dhaulagiri”
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Tödlicher Absturz am Broad Peak

Broad Peak (2004)

Am Achttausender Broad Peak ist der zweite Todesfall der Sommersaison im Karakorum zu beklagen. Der pakistanische Bergsteiger Sharif Sadpara stürzte vom Gipfelgrat ab und wird seitdem vermisst. Die Hoffnung, ihn noch lebend zu bergen, geht gegen Null.

Wie das Unglück am Dienstag geschah, beschrieb der österreichische Expeditionsveranstalter Furtenbach Adventures so: „Die Kommunikation (mit dem Broad-Peak-Basislager) ist immer noch schwierig und begrenzt. Aber was wir bisher wissen, ist, dass unser Team in der Nacht von Lager 3 aus gestartet ist und auch das Fixseil am Gipfelgrat gelegt hat. Es folgten Bergsteiger anderer Teams. Kurz vor dem Gipfel stürzte ein nachfolgender pakistanischer Bergsteiger eines anderen Teams durch eine Schneewechte auf dem Gipfelgrat auf die chinesische Seite hinunter. Dieses Ereignis stoppte den Gipfelvorstoß aller aus naheliegenden Gründen.“

„Tödlicher Absturz am Broad Peak“ weiterlesen

Italiener ohne Flaschensauerstoff auf dem Nanga Parbat – erster Todesfall der Saison

Nanga Parbat

Im Express-Tempo haben sechs italienische Bergführer aus dem Aosta-Tal zu Füßen des Mont Blanc den 8125 Meter hohen Nanga Parbat in Pakistan bestiegen – und das ohne Flaschensauerstoff! Marco Camandona, Francois Cazzanelli, Emrik Favre, Jerome Perruquet, Roger Bovard und Pietro Picco stiegen nach italienischen Presseberichten über die Kinshofer-Route auf und erreichten in weniger als zwei Tagen den Gipfel am Montagvormittag Ortszeit.

Sie hatten beschlossen, lediglich in Lager 3 auf rund 6700 Metern zu rasten. Cazzanelli brach erst nach den anderen vom Basislager auf 4300 Metern auf und erreichte den höchsten Punkt in nur 20 Stunden und 20 Minuten. Cazzanelli und Picco hatten – wie berichtet  – in der vergangenen Woche im unteren Bereich der Diamirwand eine anspruchsvolle Variante zur Kinshofer-Route eröffnet und sie „Aosta Valley Express“ getauft.

„Italiener ohne Flaschensauerstoff auf dem Nanga Parbat – erster Todesfall der Saison“ weiterlesen

Kristin Harilas Achttausender-Jagd: Nummer 7, Nanga Parbat

Die Diamirseite des Nanga Parbat

Die ersten Achttausender-Gipfelerfolge der Sommersaison in Pakistan werden vom Nanga Parbat gemeldet. Laut Pemba Sherpa, Gründer des nepalesischen Veranstalters 8K Expeditions, erreichte heute die 36 Jahre alte Norwegerin Kristin Harila mit ihren drei Begleitern Chhiring Namgel Sherpa, Pasdawa Sherpa und Dawa Ongju Sherpa den Gipfel auf 8125 Metern. Damit setzte Kristin ihre Rekordjagd auf den Spuren von Nirmal „Nims“ Purja fort.

Wie der Nepalese im Jahr 2019 will Harila als erste Frau alle 14 Achttausender in einem halben Jahr besteigen – wie Nims mit Flaschensauerstoff, starker Sherpa-Unterstützung und, wenn möglich, Hubschraubern, um die Distanzen zwischen den Bergen möglichst schnell zu überwinden. In Pakistan dürfte dies nicht möglich sein, da Helikopterflüge im Norden des Landes nur dem pakistanischen Militär erlaubt sind.

„Kristin Harilas Achttausender-Jagd: Nummer 7, Nanga Parbat“ weiterlesen

Expeditions-Hotspot K2

K2
Der 8611 Meter hohe K2 im Karakorum (im Sommer 2004)

Wird der K2 wie der Mount Everest zum Verkaufsschlager? Nein, das muss ich nicht mehr als Frage formulieren. Der 8611 Meter hohe Berg an der Grenze zwischen Pakistan und China ist bereits ein Renner im Angebot der kommerziellen Expeditionsveranstalter. Karrar Haidri, Chef des Alpine Club of Pakistan, sagte der pakistanische Zeitung „The News“, in diesem Sommer würden mehr als 400 Bergsteigerinnen und Bergsteiger versuchen, den zweithöchsten Berg der Erde zu besteigen. Zum Vergleich: Für die zurückliegende Frühjahrssaison am Everest erteilte die Regierung Nepals 325 Besteigungsgenehmigungen, im Rekordjahr 2021 waren es 408.

„Expeditions-Hotspot K2“ weiterlesen

Tom Matthews nach Everest-Wissenschaftsexpedition: „Ein Gefühl der Demut“

Neue Wetterstation am Bishop Rock nahe dem Gipfel des Mount Everest
Neue Wetterstation am so genannten „Bishop Rock“ nahe dem Gipfel des Mount Everest

Dem Everest-Basislager auf der nepalesischen Südseite des Bergs schmilzt der Boden weg. Deshalb erwägt das Tourismusministerium in Kathmandu, künftig den Standort des Lagers vom Gletscher weg auf eisfreien Untergrund zu verlegen. Angeblich steht das Gelände hinter der letzten bewohnten Siedlung Gorak Shep zur Diskussion, auf rund 5200 Metern Höhe – zu Füßen des beliebten Hügels Kala Patthar (5645 Meter), von dessen höchstem Punkt aus viele Trekkingtouristen den Blick auf den Mount Everest genießen. Auslöser für den möglichen Umzug des Basislagers sind die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels.

„Ich erinnere mich noch gut daran, wie das Küchenpersonal vor nicht allzu vielen Jahren große Eisbrocken sammelte und in riesigen Töpfen kochte, um Wasser zu erlangen. Heutzutage können wir das Wasser direkt vom Khumbu-Gletscher holen“, schreibt Khimlal Gautam im Portal „Everest Chronicle“. Der Landvermesser, der 2011 und 2019 auf dem Everest stand, verbrachte die gesamte zurückliegende Frühjahrssaison im Basislager – als Mitglied jener Kommission des nepalesischen Tourismusministeriums, die jetzt empfahl, das Basislager in tiefere Regionen zu verlegen.

Der britische Klimawissenschaftler Tom Matthews stand in diesem Frühjahr auf dem Gipfel des Mount Everest auf 8849 Metern. Der 35-Jährige montierte mit Teamkollegen der National-Geographic-Wissenschaftsexpedition auf einer Höhe von 8810 Metern eine Wetterstation. Im Frühjahr 2019 hatte Tom bereits eine Station am so genannten „Balkon“ auf 8430 Metern installiert, die aber nur einige Monate überlebt hatte. Matthews hat meine Fragen beantwortet.

Tom, wie war es für dich als Wissenschaftler, auf dem höchsten Punkt der Erde zu stehen?

„Tom Matthews nach Everest-Wissenschaftsexpedition: „Ein Gefühl der Demut““ weiterlesen

Neues Hilfsprojekt in Nepal: „School up – far west“

Unterricht in der Behelfsschule in Rama
Unterricht in der Behelfsschule in Rama

„Unsere Dorfkinder besuchen eine Schule mit unzureichender Einrichtung. Das Dach ist undicht, die Klassenzimmer sind zu klein. Es fehlen Schulmöbel, Toiletten und vieles mehr“, sagt Him Bahadur Shahi aus dem kleinen Bergdorf Rama. „Wir haben einen hohen Anteil an Schulabbrechern, was auf eine Reihe sozialer Faktoren zurückzuführen ist. Dazu gehört auch der Mangel an angemessenen Bildungseinrichtungen. Eine vollwertige Schule würde unserer Gemeinde gut tun und die Schülerinnen und Schüler ermutigen, ihre Schulausbildung abzuschließen.“

In den kommenden beiden Jahren will die deutsche Hilfsorganisation „Nepalhilfe Beilngries“ um das bestehende Schulgebäude herum zwei weitere Gebäudetrakte errichten – mit Toiletten und Wasserversorgung. Mit meinem neuen „School up“-Projekt möchte ich diesen Schulbau unterstützen.

„Neues Hilfsprojekt in Nepal: „School up – far west““ weiterlesen

Offenbar zweiter Schuh von Günther Messner am Nanga Parbat gefunden

Der jetzt gefundene Schuh

„Letzte Woche wurde der zweite Schuh meines Bruders Günther am Fuße des Diamir-Gletschers von Einheimischen gefunden. Nach nach zweiundfünfzig Jahren. Und die Tragödie am Nanga Parbat bleibt für ewig bestehen, ebenso wie Günther.“ Mit diesen Worten kommentierte Bergsteiger-Legende Reinhold Messner heute in den sozialen Medien das Bild eines alten Bergschuhs auf einem großen Felsbrocken. Ihm sei das Foto zugeschickt worden, sagte der 77 Jahre alte Südtiroler der Deutschen Presse-Agentur. Er werde den Schuh persönlich in Pakistan abholen, aber das eile nicht, so Messner.

„Offenbar zweiter Schuh von Günther Messner am Nanga Parbat gefunden“ weiterlesen

Peter Riemann und das Rätsel um seinen Wintercoup am Cho Oyu

Peter Riemann (im Hintergrund der Cho Oyu)

Sitzt Peter Riemann jetzt im Himmel und plaudert mit Cho Oyu, der „Göttin des Türkis“, über seine Solo-Winterbesteigung des Achttausenders im Grenzgebiet zwischen Nepal und Tibet? Wahrscheinlich macht er jedoch auch dort oben nicht viel Aushebens darum. „Er war ziemlich zurückhaltend und prahlte überhaupt nicht mit seinen Erfolgen“, erinnert sich die Witwe des deutschen Bergsteigers, die US-Amerikanerin Carol Davis. „Er war sich selbst genug.“

Carol ist eine der offenbar sehr wenigen Personen, die Peter in sein Geheimnis über seinen mutmaßlichen Coup im Winter 1992/93 einweihte: „Peter hat mir ganz unmissverständlich erzählt, dass er den Cho Oyu von der nepalesischen Seite aus bestiegen hat, allein und ohne zusätzlichen Sauerstoff. Er mied zusätzlichen Sauerstoff und hat ihn nie benutzt. Außerdem kletterte Peter immer allein.“

„Peter Riemann und das Rätsel um seinen Wintercoup am Cho Oyu“ weiterlesen

Everest-Saison 2022: Sherpas, Sherpas, Sherpas

Südseite des Mount Everest

Die von den Icefall Doctors, einem hoch spezialisierten Sherpa-Team, gesicherte Route durch den Khumbu-Eisbruch ist seit dem gestrigen Sonntag offiziell geschlossen. Damit ist die Frühjahrssaison 2022 am Mount Everest Geschichte.

Sie brachte rund 700 Aufstiege zum höchsten Punkt der Erde, etwa 650 auf der nepalesischen Südseite des Bergs und davor 50 auf der tibetischen Nordseite, die einmal mehr für Ausländer gesperrt blieb. Bis auf sehr wenige Ausnahmen – eine davon David Göttler – verwendeten die Bergsteigerinnen und Bergsteiger Flaschensauerstoff. Daran haben wir uns inzwischen ebenso gewöhnt wie an die reißerischen Schlagzeilen: „Erste/erster … auf dem Everest“ oder „Neuer Rekord am Everest“. In anderer Hinsicht war es eine denkwürdige Saison.

„Everest-Saison 2022: Sherpas, Sherpas, Sherpas“ weiterlesen

Kristin Harila auf Nims‘ Spuren

Kristin Harila

Habe ich ein Déjà-vu? Die Norwegerin Kristin Harila stand heute mit den Sherpas Dawa Ongju und Pasdawa vom nepalesischen Veranstalter 8K Expeditions auf dem 8485 Meter hohen Gipfel des Makalu – mit Flaschensauerstoff. Laut Lakpa Sherpa, dem Chef des Unternehmens, war es Kristins sechster Achttausender innerhalb von 29 Tagen: nach der Annapurna (28. April), dem Dhaulagiri (8. Mai), dem Kangchendzönga (14. Mai), Mount Everest und Lhotse (beide am 22. Mai). Damit war sie zwei Tage schneller als der Nepalese Nirmal „Nims“ Purja im Jahr 2019.

„Kristin Harila auf Nims‘ Spuren“ weiterlesen

David Göttler: „Allein am Gipfel des Mount Everest“

David Göttler auf dem Gipfel des Mount Everest (mit einer Maske, um den Atem zu befeuchten)

Seine Taktik ist voll aufgegangen. „Ich habe immer gesagt, ich brauche ein Jahr mit einem langen Schönwetterfenster“, sagt mir David Göttler, „damit all die anderen Expeditionen schon am Berg waren, bevor ich loslege.“ Wie gestern berichtet, hatte der 43 Jahre alte deutsche Profibergsteiger am Samstag den Gipfel des Mount Everest auf 8849 Metern erreicht: ohne Flaschensauerstoff – und ohne Sherpa-Unterstützung. Bis auf jene, dass auch Göttler die Fixseile nutzte, die ein Sherpa-Team für die kommerziellen Teams gelegt hatte, um die Normalroute zu sichern.

Nach zwei gescheiterten Versuchen in den Jahren 2019 und 2021 stand David nun auf dem höchsten Punkt der Erde. Es war sein sechster Achttausender-Gipfelerfolg ohne Flaschensauerstoff nach Gasherbrum II (2006), Broad Peak (2007), Dhaulagiri (2008), Lhotse (2009) und Makalu (2013). 2017 hatte Göttler mit dem Italiener Hervé Barmasse die Südwand der Shishapangma durchklettert – ehe sie ihren Aufstieg fünf Meter unter dem Gipfel wegen zu hoher Lawinengefahr gestoppt hatten.

An Tag zwei nach seinem Everest-Gipfelerfolg habe ich mit David gesprochen.

Erst einmal einen ganz herzlichen Glückwunsch zu deiner Everest-Besteigung ohne Atemmaske. Wie viele Etappen hatte dein Gipfelvorstoß?

„David Göttler: „Allein am Gipfel des Mount Everest““ weiterlesen

David Göttler: Everest-Erfolg ohne Flaschensauerstoff

David Göttler nahe dem Everest-Südsattel

„Damit solche Träume wahr werden, braucht man wahrscheinlich sehr viele Anläufe. Weil eben alles passen muss“, sagte mir David Göttler im vergangenen Jahr, nachdem er zum zweiten Mal am Mount Everest ohne Atemmaske gescheitert war. Im dritten Anlauf hat es offenbar geklappt. Nach Angaben von Chhang Dawa Sherpa vom nepalesischen Expeditionsveranstalter Seven Summit Treks erreichte David am gestrigen Samstag ohne Flaschensauerstoff und ohne Sherpa-Unterstützung den höchsten Punkt der Erde auf 8849 Metern. Im Frühjahr 2019 war Göttler am Everest auf 8650 Metern umgekehrt, weil zu viel Verkehr auf der Normalroute herrschte und das Wetter schlechter wurde. 2021 hatten er und der Spanier Kilian Jornet ihren Versuch am Südsattel auf knapp 8000 Metern abgebrochen, weil sie sich beide nicht optimal gefühlt hatten.

„David Göttler: Everest-Erfolg ohne Flaschensauerstoff“ weiterlesen

Einer von über 400: Everest-Besteiger Gerhard Osterbauer

Gerhard Osterbauer auf dem Gipfel des Mount Everest
Gerhard Osterbauer auf dem Gipfel des Mount Everest

„Vielleicht habe ich ja auch einen Rekord aufgestellt: 30 Jahre für die Seven Summits!“, sagt Gerhard Osterbauer und lacht. Der 53 Jahre alte Österreicher erreichte am vergangenen Freitag um 7.15 Uhr Ortszeit – mit Flaschensauerstoff – den höchsten Punkt des Mount Everest auf 8849 Metern – als einer von mehr als 400 Bergsteigerinnen und Bergsteigern, die in den letzten anderthalb Wochen über die nepalesische Südseite zum Gipfel aufstiegen.

„Einer von über 400: Everest-Besteiger Gerhard Osterbauer“ weiterlesen

Mount Everest: Nun schon rund 400 Gipfelerfolge auf der Südseite

Sonnenaufgang am Mount Everest
Sonnenaufgang am Mount Everest (im Herbst 2019)

Es wirkt fast, als hätte jemand einen Keil ins Schönwetterfenster geklemmt, sodass es sich nicht schließen kann. Seit über einer Woche weht in der Gipfelregion des Mount Everest kaum oder gar kein Wind, es fällt kaum oder gar kein Schnee. Die Folge: Der Großteil der 319 ausländischen Bergsteigerinnen und Bergsteiger, denen das nepalesische Tourismusministerium in diesem Frühjahr Everest-Permits ausgestellt hat, hat seine Gipfelversuche bereits hinter sich.

Der US-Blogger Alan Arnette, der wie kein Zweiter den Überblick über die zahlreichen kommerziellen Teams am höchsten Berg der Erde behält, hat inzwischen rund 400 Gipfelerfolge (wie üblich, bis auf wenige, mit Flaschensauerstoff) auf der nepalesischen Seite des Everest notiert. Hinzu kamen Dutzende Besteigungen des benachbarten Lhotse.

„Mount Everest: Nun schon rund 400 Gipfelerfolge auf der Südseite“ weiterlesen

Billi Bierling ohne Gipfelerfolg am Dhaulagiri

Billi Bierling am Dhaulagiri
Billi Bierling am Dhaulagiri

Scheitern gehört zum ambitionierten Bergsteigen dazu – ebenso, dies ehrlich einzuräumen. So wie jetzt Billi Bierling am Dhaulagiri. „Ich habe in Lager 3 schlapp gemacht“, schreibt mir die 54 Jahre alte deutsche Bergsteigerin aus dem Basislager zu Füßen des 8167 Meter hohen Bergs im Westen Nepals.

Für den Weg von Lager 2 auf 6460 Metern bis Lager 3 auf rund 7200 Metern habe sie am vergangenen Sonntag zwölf Stunden gebraucht. Neuschnee und Lockerschneelawinen hatten für schwierige Verhältnisse gesorgt.

„Billi Bierling ohne Gipfelerfolg am Dhaulagiri“ weiterlesen
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)